Being right on track

WOW, I feel good! Today I´ve had two really good training sessions – first I ran to work this morning for the second time this week, and this evening I completed a fabulous day with doing an hour with interval training as well.

As you can read on my page about “the next four weeks”, I am now in week 1 of the four. I have managed to run to work two times – first on tuesday, and then again today thursday. It is a distance of 13,5-13,9K, depending on the route, I´ve figured out. The shortest has some tough uphills that was hard early in the morning, the longest has some detours due to roadwork – confusing and a wee bit frustrating. I will probably decide where to run as we go along.

But running almost 14K in the morning – starting at 6:15 am – is not something I am used to. My body is not ready for this so early – too little food, to little energy. I need serious willpower to do this – but my determination to build my mileage will hopefully be sufficient – and give me the stamina I need to get up at 5:15 at least twice a week. I WANT TO DO THIS!

Tuesday Oct 7th:

From tuesday morning - the day of celebrating 3 years of marriage in the evening - ended up with wearing my Asics Gel Kayano to dinner and theater!
From tuesday morning – the day of celebrating 3 years of marriage in the evening – ended up with wearing my Asics Gel Kayano to dinner and theater!

Thursday Oct 9th:

From today´s run - it was raining most of the time, getting soaked. Tired in the end, but managed to stay on a 5:20something pace on an average.
From today´s run – it was raining most of the time, getting soaked. Tired in the end, but managed to stay on a 5:20something pace on an average.

This evening it was time for my Intervals with some people from Friskis & Svettis Oppegård – but only two people (and I) turned up today. Still, we had an excellent workout, my legs were not too fresh, but I managed. A wonderful feeling in the shower afterwords – being worn out and really happy about it!

So for now, this week, I have run a total of 36K so far. With plans on doing an 18K on saturday, I will surpass my goal of 50K. I am super happy, but will not take anything for granted – I still need to get out on saturday and finish that run.

Testing my new light weight shoes for the first time this evening – my Fastwitch shoes from Saucony – I am really excited about this week. I hope to be able to use these shoes on my 16K in Porto – will have to test them out on shorter runs before I go there. Still 24 days left!

My new light weight shoes with just the slightest drop. Feeling really excited getting ready for my 16K in Porto.
My new light weight shoes with just the slightest drop. Feeling really excited getting ready for my 16K in Porto.

It is late and I am going to my Manual Therapist before work tomorrow – my appointment is at 7 am. Will tell you more about him at another time.

 

Me

Leave a Reply

