The worst run ever?

Well, probably not. But close. After saturday´s ECO trail I needed some rest, but suddenly 3 days had passed and I forced myself out there just after work today. Decided to do only 10K, but never have 10K been so hard. I was not trying to run fast, and I didn´t, but my body was really struggling to keep up a moderate pace. Maybe running in the afternoon is not for me – I went out there without filling up on any kind of nutrition, I thought maybe lunch would be sufficient? But running at 5-6 in the afternoon, when you had lunch at 11, might be kind of stupid. I know. I feel stupid 😉

Anyhow – a run like that is not motivating in itself. SOMETIMES I am able to think “I´ll kick your ass the next time” after a tough run – but most of the time I just feel like giving up. My mind went a bit for the latter, but no way: I will not let this run beat me. Tomorrow it is time for intervals with my buddies at Friskis & Svettis Oppegård, and I will make sure to eat something a couple of hours before. I refuse to feel like this tomorrow evening.

I finished my run, went straight inside, kicked of my shoes and hit the shower. Then straight into the kitchen and made dinner for myself and the kids. Hubby still in the office, I wonder if he reads this? After cleaning up the mess in the kitchen, I synced my tomtom with my mac and found the stats for today´s run:

Not the worst pace, but I usually have no problems keeping this pace - today it felt like a hard tempo run, although I knew all along that it was no such thing.
Not the worst pace, but I usually have no problems keeping this pace – today it felt like a hard tempo run, although I knew all along that it was no such thing.
This is the 10K I have run like a
This is the 10K I have run like a “thousand” times. Today I hated it.

I have no further explanations to why today was so hard – 3 days with rest after ECO trail 18K should be plenty. But hey, I´ll kick this 10K´s ass soon. And no matter how bad I felt – after syncing my tomtom, I received an e-mail from Runkeeper: a new personal record for running, most activities in a month! Hey, that´s more like it! And I still have plans for more runs before May is over, so this is looking good!

My head is spinning around my first half marathon in September in Oslo – how to get my old speed back, to be able to run it fast? And also: will I be able to run a full marathon in Berlin September 2016? I need to lay some plans and strategies, and stick to them. Do you have any tips for me, please comment. If you in any way can add to my motivation, please comment. I would really like to hear from you.

This is for me, and for all my fellow runners: Don´t let the bad runs bring you down. Always run happy!
(And for my hubby: I love you, you know that? Thanks for letting me run when i should have oiled the terrace ❤ )

Me-

2 thoughts on “The worst run ever?

Leave a Reply

