Planning for Berlin half

Today was the first day of week 2, out of 23. 23 weeks with motivated running will make me PR in Berlin, for sure. Week 1 – 40K. Week 2 – going for 50K. Should be no problem, I have done it before. Last fall I ran 50K almost every week from beginning of October ´till Christmas. My plan is to run a minimum of 50K week 2 through 22. I did 18,5K on Saturday, and 14K this morning. Feeling good! The next weeks will be as follows:

Week 3: same as week 2 – a total of min.50K
Monday – run to work at 6am, 14K
Tuesday – rest
Wednesday – run to work at 6am, 14K
Thursday – interval with my buddies, usually about 7,5-8K
Friday – rest
Saturday – long and slow run, a minimum of 15K
Sunday – rest

Week 4: same as week 2 and 3 – a total of min.50K (same schedule)

Week 5: get another training session into my schedule – tempo run or longer intervals on tuesday evening. This means adding another 10K (minimum) – all together a minimum of 60K.

Week 6: back to 50K

At this point I will have done 6 weeks of motivated training. I am all eager to get to it. I have an idea on how to plan for week 7-23, but for now this is what I will put down in writing. I find it important to be able to adjust as I go along, since I need to get som answers from my body as well. After all, I am a 49 year young woman!

Not so young woman about to run her second half marathon.
Maybe not so young woman about to run her second half marathon 😉

What I have been lacking in motivation the last 2 years, is back in full – and then some. If you are planning for Berlin half in April, please let me know. I have registered and booked airline tickets, and will be there for sure. Why don´t you come along?

To let you in on a secret – when in Lisbon, I heard about the 100 half marathons club. Some people had actually run 100 half marathons. I started playing with the idea, and realized that with 4 races each year it would take me 25 years to make it. So now I am thinking more like – how many half marathons can I do in 12 months? I thinks this might be a whole new chapter of my blog.

For now – Run strong, run long, run happy. Get yourself out there, will you!?

Me-

Week 7-10

Week 8-11

Week 12-15

Week 16-19

Week 20-23

Leave a Reply

